Supporting youth & sports since 1942.

The 6th annual TAC Celebrity Classic ended in a tie for top honors between a team from the Tower Lanes and “ Whalley’s Wonders”. Jeanne Naccarato captained the “bowling five” and John Whalley led the opposition with identical scores of 22 (five under).The 9-hole “Scramble” format featured a million dollar shot at hole #9, a 2018 Buick Encore from the Harnish Auto Family and a $10,000 cash prize on hole #3.  

The celebrities included Joey Waters of Tacoma Stars Soccer fame and the coach of a Bellarmine team which was rated #1 in the nation in recent years, PLU Hall of Famers Roger Iverson and Jim Van Beek, both All-Americans in basketball in the 50s, and three UPS stars – Rick Walker, Mark Wells and Clint Scott. Walker and Wells were stars on the NCAA National Championship Logger basketball team and Scott set 18 school records and was named to the UPS sports Hall of Fame as a place kicker when he was a national career scoring leader in the 60s. A Cougar and a Husky were among them as well. Ron Medved, a Bellarmine Prep grad who starred at the UW and with the Philadelphia Eagles of the NFL, and Mike Levenseller, a Curtis high grad who became a legendary “Coug” as a pass receiver and a coach, also performed as “celebs”. The 7th version of the Celebrity Classic promises more of the same. Indeed, it’s a Classic!

2018 Co-champions – left to right, Jeff Whalley, Harry Phillips, John Whalley, John Bargren, Joey Waters (celebrity), Don Meier.   

2018 Co-champions – left to right – front row, Jeanne Naccarato, Joey Waters (celebrity), Margie Oleole. back row – Randy Macomber, Steve Naccarato, Fred Mattson.