Excellence in Officiating Award-Detail

Supporting youth & sports since 1942.

Excellence in Officiating Award-Detail
Excellence in Officiating Award-Detail

Ed Viering
Track & Field

    Ed Viering is in his 14th year of officiating with horizontal jumps being his specialty. Certified at the USATF "Master” level, Viering has worked track & field and cross country competitions at Youth, High School, College, Open and Masters levels. He was honored as 2012 Official of the Year by both the Washington State Track and Field Coaches Association and the Pacific Northwest Track & Field Officials Association.

    At the high school level he has been a Head Horizontal Jumps Official at the WIAA 2A/3A/4A Track & Field State Championships since 2009. He has also been a head official for various events at SPSL and West Central District championships. Since 2003 he has served as head High Jump official for the Easton Invite in Snohomish. Ed is also a Head Starter at dual meets for both Peninsula and Tacoma School Districts.

    College highlights include being the Head Horizontal Jumps Official at University of Puget Sound since 2004. He has officiated numerous meets at the University of Washington and Pacific Lutheran University, including Northwest Conference and Mountain Pacific Sports Federation championships. For cross country, he worked the 2012 NCAA Division I West Regional Championship.

    At the Youth level, he has worked numerous Junior Olympic Association and Regional Championships for both T&F and XC. He was selected for and served at two national meets--- the 2014 USATF Junior Olympic T&F National Championship in Humble, TX, and the 2012 USATF Youth T&F National Championship in Arlington TX.

    Masters and Open highlights include working the 2014 USATF Club T&F Championships in Tacoma and the 2012 USATF Club XC Championships in Seattle.

    Ed is the Secretary on the Board of USATF Pacific Northwest and is an instructor/clinician for their Officials Certification clinics. He was awarded the association's Ken Foreman Contributor of the Year Award for 2014.
    Excellence in Officiating Award-Detail