Clay Huntington may have been the youngest sportswriter and sportscaster in Tacoma’s history. He started while in Lincoln High School, working for the Tacoma Times and KMO radio, and he continued while attending the College of Puget Sound. He was one of the founders of the Tacoma Athletic Commission, the first voice of the Tacoma Tigers when professional baseball returned to Tacoma in 1946 and also broadcast Tacoma Rockets hockey games from 1946-53.

A former Pierce County Commissioner and founder of the State of Washington Sports Hall of Fame, Clay owns radio station KLAY, one of the last stations still covering Tacoma high school and college sports in addition to Tacoma’s professional teams.

The Clay Huntington Scholarship Award is a TAC effort, dedicated in Clay’s name, to assist deserving local high school and college students in their pursuit of broadcasting or journalism at the post-secondary institution of their choice.


2024 SCHOLARSHIP APPLICATION NOW OPEN  - Click here to submit an application.

Please review the application prior to completing it.  The site does not allow for you to save your information and return.


Award Recipients 

Year Award School
2024 Vincent Saldana Lincoln High School
2023 Andrew Perdue Bonney Lake High School
2022 Cassidy Collins Cascade Christian High School
2021 Joey Vaughan Bellarmine Prep
2021 Liberty Tucker White River High School
2020 Daniel Shurr Peninsula High School
2019 Albert James Lakes High School
2018 Josh Hanigan Bellarmine Prep
2016 Joe Lyon Bellarmine Prep
2015 Kasey Hewitt Lakes High School
2014 Andrea Bowman Bonney Lake High School
2013 James Silberman Peninsula High School
2012 Michael Schwartze Wilson High School
2011 Elliot Rosen Wilson High School
2010 Alex Benzegala Peninsula High School
2009 Jordan Lewis Fife High School
2008 Brittany Ward Puyallup High School
2007 Mike Beers Pierce College
2006 Nick Kajca Emerald Ridge High School
2005 Spencer Drolette Peninsula High School
2004 Brendon Kepner Spanaway Lake High School
2003 Russell Houghtaling Peninsula High School
2002 Chad Potter Peninsula High School
2001 Spencer Snope Peninsula High School
2000 Kara Rae Skagg Peninsula High School