This award was established to honor a legendary coach, Frosty Westering, and to inspire and recognize those who follow in his footsteps. Frosty emphasized a double-win theme: victory on the scoreboard and the satisfaction of playing to one’s personal potential. He instilled a love of teamwork and competition and stressed “service above self.” For 40 years his players responded by portraying excellence on the field, in the classroom and in the community. The award is presented to a local coach in recognition of their commitment to excellence and devotion to the personal growth of their players.
Westering is a member of a select fraternity: college football coaches who have won at least 300 games. He is a member of the NAIA and the NCAA Hall of Fame. He led the Lutes to the 1999 NCAA Division III championship. PLU won NAIA Division II national titles in 1980, 1987 and 1993 and finished as national runner-up in 1983, 1985, 1991 and 1994. His overall record at PLU was a staggering 261-70-5 (.784 winning percentage), and no PLU team under his guidance suffered a losing season. His football players portrayed excellence in the classroom and in the community where they served as role models for hundreds of youth in the Parkland area through their personal involvement at several Tacoma area schools.
Award Recipients
Year Award School
2023 Dave Miller Lakes High School 
Michelle Pielak Curtis High Schoo
2022 Joe Clark Lakes High School
Robi Turley Sumner High School
2021 No recipients due to COVID  
2020 Life Christian Academy
2019 Gig Harbor High School
Washington and Franklin Pierce High Schools
2018 Wilson
White River High School
2017 Life Christian Academy
Bellarmine Prep
2016 Pacific Lutheran University
2015 Cascade Christian School
2014 Steilacoom High School